Hilary Hahn Vivaldi


Video Hilary Hahn plays Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1 aged 18. The then-18-year-old American violinist Hilary Hahn plays Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1 with the Symphonie Orchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks conducted by Lorin Maazel in Munich in 1998.

  1. By Composer - Featuring classical violin virtuosi such as Midori,Jascha Heifetz and Hilary Hahn.
  2. Accolay: Violin Concerto No. Jean-Baptiste Accolay composed this concerto for violin.
  • George Frideric Handel
    Concerto grosso in B flat major, op. 3 no. 2, HWV 313 (11 min.)

  • Antonio Vivaldi
    Concerto for Flautino, Strings and Basso continuo in C major, RV 443 (10 min.)

    Egor Egorkinpiccolo

  • Antonio Vivaldi
    Concerto for Bassoon, Strings and Basso continuo in E minor, RV 484 (12 min.)

    Stefan Schweigertbassoon

  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048 (10 min.)

  • George Frideric Handel
    Concerto for Harp, Strings and Basso continuo in B flat major, op. 4 no. 6, HWV 294 (13 min.)

    Marie-Pierre Langlametharp

  • Antonio Vivaldi
    “L’estro armonico”: Concerto for 2 Violins, Strings and Basso continuo in A minor, op. 3 no. 8, RV 522 (10 min.)

    Dorian Xhoxhiviolin, Raimar Orlovskyviolin

  • Johann Sebastian Bach
    Concerto for Oboe, Violin, Strings and Basso continuo in D minor, BWV 1060R (15 min.)

    Noah Bendix-Balgleyviolin, Jonathan Kellyoboe

Hilary Hahn VivaldiHilary hahn height

People often take the well-known genres of classical music for granted and easily forget that they had to be created through many intermediate stages. This applies to the solo concerto no less than to the symphony. Our image is shaped by the virtuoso concerto of the Classical and Romantic periods, in which a single soloist takes on an orchestra of up to 80 musicians: in Latin, “concertare” means to argue or fight.

In the early Baroque form, the Concerto grosso, things are quite different: the instrumental ensemble is much smaller, and in the solo passages, it is not an individual but a group of instrumentalists which comes to the fore and then rejoins the collective in the tutti sections. Vivaldi’s solo concerto, characterised by great virtuosity, is a closer relative of the later form. Here too, however, the number of musicians required is small enough that performances are possible without any problems during pandemic times – even while observing the social distancing rules. In this episode of the Berlin Phil Series, members of the Berliner Philharmoniker perform famous Bach works such as the Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 and the Double Concerto for Violin and Oboe, as well as lesser-known works by Vivaldi and Handel.

In the standard repertoire of the concerto genre, the piano is by far the most strongly represented. Most major composers since the Classical period were also famous pianists who wrote their concertos as bravura pieces for their own performances. This evening’s programme offers a wider range of solo instruments, including a harp concerto by Handel and two pieces by Vivaldi in which the piccolo and the bassoon appear as protagonists. While guest soloists are often invited for performances of solo concertos from the Classical and Baroque periods, in this concert the Philharmoniker remain among themselves and alternate their roles as soloists and ensemble players.

Watch now

29 Oct 2011
Family concert

Members of the Berliner Philharmoniker

Aleksandar IvićLoyal brave true mulan.

  • Antonio Vivaldi
    Le quattro stagioni (The Four Seasons), concertos for violin, strings and basso continuo, op. 8: Autumn · Winter (with introductions in German) (37 min.)

    Aleksandar IvićPresentation and Violin

Almost everyone knows Antonio Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, and can hum along to the most famous melodies of this cycle. But who knows exactly what scenes and stories about the composer are depicted in these violin concertos? At this Family Concert of the education programme of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the examples of Autumn and Winter reveal the wealth of detail hidden in the score.

Hilary Hahn Twitter

Originally from Croatia, Aleksandar Ivić, violinist with the Berliner Philharmoniker since 1996, not only plays the solo part in the concertos, but also presents the concert. He describes the scenes in the original texts which inspired Vivaldi’s compositions – such as Harvest Festivals in the early autumn. In other places, he imaginatively suggests new interpretations of the soundscapes. Aleksandar Ivić is accompanied in this performance from the Chamber Music Hall of the Berlin Philharmonie by members of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Hilary Hahn Vivaldi Summer


Hilary Hahn Mendelssohn

Watch now